A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Nigeria to generate power from atomic energy

16 September 2011, Sweetcrude, Abuja- Nigeria plans to generate electricity from atomic energy, President Goodluck Jonathan has said.

Jonathan, who disclosed this in Abuja while inaugurating the Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission, directed the body to quickly evolve implementable plans and timelines for its delivery.

The President said generating power from atomic energy held a strategic place in the Federal Government’s long-term plans of ensuring steady power supply in the country.

He promised that his administration would give the commission adequate funds to carry out its task, within the limits of available resources.

He said, “We all know the importance of atomic energy. We have plans to generate power from atomic energy and we must pursue it seriously. But we need a very capable commission to facilitate and regulate our development and use of atomic energy for peace applications.

“I am very pleased, therefore, to inaugurate your commission today. We expect you to come up with timelines for the delivery of atomic energy to our people and we will give you the resources you need to work.

“We are very hopeful that with the high calibre and credentials of members of the commission, our expectations will be realised.”

Responding, Dr. Erepamo Osaisai, who chaired the agency, thanked the President for appointing and formally inaugurating the commission, saying that it was an affirmation of the administration’s commitment to the development of atomic energy.

He pledged that members of the commission would work very hard to ensure that nuclear technology was developed in Nigeria to contribute to national development.

The commission was established by Act 46 of 1976 as a specialised agency for the promotion and development of nuclear technology.

It was reactivated by the Olusegun Obasanjo Administration in 2006 and its present membership was appointed by President Jonathan earlier this year.

The commission’s mandate is to develop the framework and technical pathway to explore, exploit and harness atomic energy for peaceful application in all its ramifications for the socio-economic development of Nigeria.

Headed by Dr. Erepamo Osaisai, the commission has as members, Prof. Elijah Mshelia, Prof. Simon Mallam, Prof. Matthew Agu, Dr. Imoh Obioh, Mr. Ibrahim S. Mohammed, Mr. Tele Ogunjobi and Ambassador Maria Laose of the Nigerian Embassy in Vienna.

In this article

Join the Conversation