A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Jonathan seeks Senate confirmation for NDDC board

26 October 2011, Sweetcrude, Abuja – President Goodluck Jonathan has sent a list of nominees for the board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) to the Senate for confirmation as replacement for the commission’s dissolved board.

The letter conveying the names of the nominees was read by the President of the Senate, David Mark, on Tuesday.

The list has Dr. Tariah Tebepah (Bayelsa) as Chairman; Dr. Christian Obo (Rivers) as Managing Director; and Mr. LeJ Kobanye (Delta) as Executive Director, Finance and Administration.

Other nominees are Mr. Edward Orubo (Bayelsa); Dr. Ibitamuno Aminigo (Rivers); Chief Solomon Ogba (Delta); Mr. Imaobong Johnson (Akwa Ibom) Mr. Edikan Eshett Eshett(Executive Director Projects, Akwa Ibom); Mr. Peter Ezeobi (Imo); Mr. Dominic Edem(Cross Rivers); Mr. Alloysius Nwagboso (Abia); Mr. Omogbemi Oladele (Ondo); and Mr. Osahon Imaru (Edo). Mr. Joe Jakpa will represent the oil producing communities on the board.

Nominees that will represent the non-oil mineral producing areas are Senator Garba Lado (North-West), Mr. Rima Kwewum (North-East) and Senator Tunde Ogbeha (North-Central).

The board of the NDDC was dissolved by the President on September 13, following allegations of mismanagement and internal wrangling among the members.

In this article

Join the Conversation