A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Nigeria Police chief sacked

*AIG appointed to act
*Police re-organisation underway

25 January 2012, Sweetrcude, Abuja – President Goodluck Jonathan has fired the Inspector General of Police Hafiz Ringim, while appointing Mr. Mohammed D. Abubakar as Acting Inspector General of Police.

A statement from Dr. Reuben Abati, the president’s spokesman said this is a first step towards the comprehensive reorganization and repositioning of the Nigeria Police Force to make it more effective and capable of meeting emerging internal security challenges.

It was gathered that the President had summoned the embattled Police chief to his office at the Presidential Villa, Abuja Wednesday morning for a brief meeting, following which Ringim was told his services would no longer be needed.

The meeting between Jonathan and Ringim which reportedly lasted over thirty minutes, caused an unusual delay in the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

President Jonathan directed Ringim shortly after the meeting to immediately handover to his next in command and proceed on compulsory retirement.

The statement released by the presidency disclosed that Mr. Abubakar who is currently an Assistant Inspector General of Police replaces Mr. Hafiz Ringim who proceeds on terminal leave with effect from today, 25th January 2012.

Born on May 5, 1958, Mr. Abubakar enlisted in the Nigeria Police Force on July 30, 1979. He was the AIG in charge of Zone 12 Headquarters in Bauchi, before his new appointment.

President Jonathan has also approved the retirement of all Deputy Inspectors General of Police with immediate effect. These are: Mrs. Ivy Uche Okoronkwo, DIG POL 2i/c Force Headquarters, Abuja, Mr. Azubuko J. Udah, DIG Administration (“A” Dept), Mr. Sardauna Abubukar, DIG Training (“E” Dept.); Mr. Audu Abubakar, DIG Operations (“B” Dept); Mr. Saleh Abubakar, DIG Works (“C” Dept.) and Mr. Mohammed A. Yesufu, DIG Planning and Info-Tech (“F” Dept.).

The President has also established a Special Committee to oversee the urgent reorganization of the Nigeria Police Force. The committee is to be chaired by the Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Mr. Parry B.O Osayande, DIG (rtd).
Other Members of the Committee are:
1. Mr. Casimir T. Akagbosu, AIG (rtd.), mni
2. Mr. Bashir A. Albasu, AIG (rtd.), fwc.
3. Major Gen. S.N. Chikwe, rtd.
4. Prof. S.D. Mukoro
5. Dr. Fabian Ajogwu, SAN
6. Aisha Larai Tukur
7. Solicitor General of the Federation
8. Permanent Secretary, SSO, Office of the SGF to serve as the Secretary to the Committee

The Committee’s Terms of Reference are as follows:
1. To identify the challenges and factors militating against effective performance in the Nigeria Police Force and make recommendations for addressing the challenges.
2. To examine the scope and standard of training and other personnel development activities in the Police to determine their adequacy or otherwise.
3. To determine the general and specific causes of the collapse of public confidence in the police and recommend ways of restoring public trust in the institution.
4. To examine records of performance of Officers and Men of the Nigeria Police Force with a view to identifying those that can no longer fit into the system due to declining productivity, age, indiscipline, corruption and/or disloyalty;
5. To make any other recommendations for the improvement of the Nigeria Police Force.
The Committee’s recommendations shall be implemented along with those by previous committees set up by Government on the reform of the Nigeria Police Force.

In this article

Join the Conversation