NNPC/Shell cup enters zonal finals

25 February 2012, Sweetcrude, LAGOS – With State finals concluded, the NNPC/Shell Cup for the All Nigeria Secondary Schools Football Championships is set to enter into the zonal preliminaries this week at selected cities across the country.

National Co-ordinator of the competition,Shola Akinwale said the country has been divided into nine zones which will host four teams each for the zonal contests sheduled to hold from Wednesday.

The Ijebu-Ode zone will host teams from Ekiti, Lagos, Kwara and Osun while the Oshogbo centre is venue for teams Ondo, Ogun, Kogi and Edo, Enugu hosts champion schools from Benue, Bayelsa, Cross River and Anambra just as the Owerri zone is hosting teams from Akwa Ibom, Enugu, Rivers and Delta,

Calabar zone, Akinwale said, is the venue for teams from Abia, Imo, Ebonyi and Taraba, Minna is host to teams from Nasarawa, Kano, Kaduna and the Federal Capital Territory, Gombe will host champion schools from Yobe, Borno, Adamawa and Katsina while Katsina is the centre for teams from Kebbi, Sokoto, Gombe and Bauchi states.

Some of the participating schools are Government Day Secondary School, Birniwa, Sultan Abubakar College, Mafoni Day Secondary School, Emerald College, Port Harcourt , Government Secondary School, Owerri, Government Day Secondary School, Uke and Commercial College, Gboko.

Lagos state will be represented by Dairy Farms Secondary School, Agege who defeated Oshodi Senior Secondary school 2-1 in the state final while Delta is being represented by National Foundation Academy, Ughelli.

About the Author