A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Power: Govt charges new TCN board to end system collapses

Oscarline Onwuemenyi

14 March 2013, Sweetcrude, Abuja – The Federal Government on Wednesday inaugurated the newly constituted Supervisory Board for Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN), with the charge to revamp the Company in order to achieve technical and financial adequacy as well as provide stable transmission of power without system collapses.

Transmission Company of Nigeria, you will recall, is the Company saddled with the responsibility of electricity transmission between generation and distribution Companies.

The Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo while inaugurating the newly constituted Supervisory Board in Abuja further charged them with the responsibility of reducing electricity losses in transmission networks and systems;

Nebo further noted that the board should ensure equitable and adequate generation dispatch predicated on a fair merit order as well as the operation of a transmission system consistent with the established regulatory framework;

“Of most concern to Nigerians and the power industry is the improvement of grid security and general performance; provision of micro grid for captive power nation-wide and efficient market settlements between electricity market participants/sellers,” the Minister stated.

He also harped on the need for an efficient transfer of skills and expertise by foreign experts in the sector to Nigerian counterparts and personnel.

According to him, this will lead to efficient management of Government investments and effective monitoring and evaluation framework.

He further stated that, while the Supervisory Board provides oversight to the Management Contractor, the Ministry of Power would take charge of overall oversight of the sector, calling on them to therefore report to the Minister on policy issues.

The board is expected to provide yearly company report to Nigerians who are the owners of the company.

Members of the Supervisory Board of Transmission Company of Nigeria Plc (TCN) are as follows:

* Engr. Hamman Tukur – Chairman
* Akinsola Akinfemiwa – Vice-Chairman
* Don Priestman (MHI) – Member
* Director (HR) (BPE) – Member
* Ms. Larai Shuaibu (MOFI) – Member
* Engr. Peter Ewesor (Min. of Power) – Member
* Dr. Sam O. Egwu (Independent) – Member.

Responding, the Chairman of the Board, Engr. Hamman Tukur pledged that the members of the Board will justify the confidence reposed on them.

Tukur further assured the Minister that, the Board will work effectively with Manitoba officials to evacuate all electricity generated for distribution to Nigerians.

In this article

Join the Conversation