A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

FG names new director for DPR, CEO for NSC

22 June 2013, Lagos – The Federal Government has appointed Mr. George Abiodun Osahon as new director of the Department of Petroleum Resources, DPR.

Osahon, who boasts over 30 years experience in the petroleum sector, replaces Mr. Osten Olorunshola, who has been in the position since 2011.

Osahon has previously held the position of Group General Manager, National Petroleum Investment Management Services, NAPIMS. He was also managing director, Nigerian Petroleum Development Company, NPDC, and Energia. He is currently the Managing Director of Geo-Concept Technical Limited and hails from Edo State.

According to a statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr Reuben Abati, Mr Osahon was expected to reposition the DPR and enhance its ability to address the critical challenges of regulating the upstream and downstream sectors of the petroleum industry, as well as enforcing the provisions of the nation’s petroleum laws.

The statement said the president had also approved the appointment of Mr. Hassan Bello as the substantive Executive Secretary and Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Shippers Council.

Bello who held the position in an acting capacity until now, was the council’s director of Legal Services.

A 1981 graduate of law from the Ahmadu Bello University, Bello hails from Kebbi State. He later obtained a Masters of Law from the university in 1990.

Before joining the Nigerian Shippers Council in 1998, Bello had worked with the Sokoto State Ministry of Justice and the Sokoto Investment Company.

In this article

Join the Conversation