A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Tanzania's energy authority to open regional offices

Power transmission grid17 February 2014, Dar es Salaam: In a bid to extend its services countrywide, the Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority Consumer Consultative Council (EWURA-CCC) will this financial year open up offices in eight regions.

The regions include Tanga, Kigoma, Morogoro, Kilimanjaro, Kagera, Rukwa, Mbeya and Mara. EWURA-CCC Executive Secretary, Eng. Goodluck Mmari, said in Dar es Salaam on Friday that the council will open the offices in phases, saying the first phase would involve eight regions.

Eng. Mmari pointed out that the council has already acquired buildings to house the offices and procedures to recruit staff in the offices were still in the process. “We have already acquired buildings to house the offices. We are currently training new staff on capacity building in eight regions,” he said.

EWURA-CCC Executive Secretary said the training is also attended by new members of the Regional Consultative Council (RCC), saying the appointment of new council members was aimed at filling positions resulted from the move of the staff into other regions.

“After government established the new regions of Njombe, Katavi, Geita and Simiyu, the council saw the importance of forming the regional consultative councils in those regions to deal with the complaints at the regional level,” he said.

The executive secretary pointed out that with the opening of regional offices would facilitate the council’s efforts of raising awareness to the public on their rights and the process to submit their complaints to the council.


– Tanzania Daily News

In this article

Join the Conversation