A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Q/finalists emerge for 2014 NNPC/Shell Cup

nnpc29 March 2014, Lagos – The zonal preliminaries of the All Nigeria Secondary Schools Football Championship for the 2014  NNPC/Shell Cup were concluded last Wednesday in nine cities across the country with quarter finalists emerging from each of the centers.

Brightville College, Ibadan emerged the winner of the Osogbo zone at the expense of other schools from Ogun, Ondo and Lagos states while St. Thomas Basic Secondary   School, Benin booked the quarter final ticket at Ado Ekiti where 2012 champions, Kwara Football Academy Secondary School, Ilorin also participated.

Randolph Comprehensive College, Port Harcourt also qualified for the quarter finals after engaging their counterparts from Ekiti, Delta and Bayelsa states.

The zonal preliminaries in Enugu produced Anglican Secondary School, Makurdi as the quarter finalist after defeating their counterparts from Anambra, Imo and Cross River states.

Meanwhile, the Akwa Ibom state representatives in the championship, Etinan Community Secondary school, Etinan emerged the winner of the preliminaries in Yenegoa at the expense of Government College, Umuahia and Government Secondary School, Nsukka just as Plateau state champions, Government secondary school, KopyalBokos also secured a quarter finals ticket from Lokojacentre.

In Jalingo, the zonal preliminary matches produced Government Day Secondary School, Gwandu, Gombe state as the quarter finalist while at the Kefficentre, Government Model School, Kontagora, Niger state emerged winner of the zone.

The last 2 qualifiers for the quarter finals are Government Day Secondary School, Dange and Dangogo Secondary school, Bungudu representing Sokoto and Zamfara states respectively.

The quarter final matches will be played in four cities namely Shagamu, Port Harcourt, Minna and Kaduna from April 12  to14, 2014

– Vanguard

In this article

Join the Conversation