A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

DPR shuts 22 filling stations in FCT

30 July 2015, Abuja – The Abuja office of the Department of Petroleum Resources has closed down 22 filling stations in the Federal Capital Territory and its environs due to what it described as undue profiteering.

Mordecai Danteni Baba Ladan,, Director, DPR
Mordecai Danteni Baba Ladan, Director, DPR

The department said 19 of the affected filling stations were sealed for selling above the N87 per litre official price, while two others were shut for diversion of petroleum products.

The regulator said in a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday, “The remaining one was grossly under-dispensing and selling products massively in jerry cans.

“The stations are to remain sealed for at least one month in addition to forfeiting their bridging claims as directed by the Federal Government.”

The affected filling stations, according to the DPR, include Kalasma Nigeria Limited, Zuba, Abuja; as well as Inyas Nigeria Limited, Jibeco Nigeria Limited, Ahmis Nigeria Limited, Kelvin Energy Limited, and B.B. King Nigeria Limited, all on Kaduna Road, Niger State.

Others are A.A. Rano Nigeria Limited, Abuja-Keffi Road, Nasarawa State; Evil Intl. Oil & Gas, One Man Village, Karu, Abuja; Falke Oil, Double Pole, New Nyanya, Abuja; Alhaji Isa Maidole & Sons Nigeria Limited, Nasarawa State; Halims (Invest) Nigeria Limited, Nasarawa State; and Dikas Pet. Coy. Limited, Nasarawa.

The DPR also listed Yaman Nigeria Limited; Oando on Herbert Macaulay Way; Danco Oil, Gwagwalada; Sunmart Giri Abba Petrol Limited; Febas Energy, Mayo; Doma Ent Limited; Rayhanah Co. Limited; and Conoil, Gwagwalada, all in Abuja.

“Petroleum product marketers and depot owners are hereby warned to operate within the guidelines governing petroleum sale and distribution or face the wrath of the law. The exercise shall continue until normalcy is restored,” it added.


– Punch

In this article

Join the Conversation