Ogun police arrest six pipeline vandals in new offensive

05 June 2016, Abeokuta – The Ogun State Police Command in a new offensive has arrested six pipeline vandals in various locations in the state.


Nigeria Police

Those arrested include four notorious militants operating around the Ikorodu-Arepo axis.

The four suspects were Pere Ugbozuwa (40), who was said to be the Secretary to the militants,Audu Tony (39), Ifeanyi Eze (29) and Ojogo Ezekiel (23). The four suspects were arrested on Friday.

According to the state Police Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi, the suspects were under interrogation at the headquarters of the Special Anti- Robbery Squad, Magbon, Abeokuta.

He said the suspects had made useful statements that would assist the officer In charge of the SARS to carry out thorough investigation and make more arrests.

He said this new offensive led by the state Commissioner of Police, Abdulmajid Ali, made the arrest possible, adding that the group had been linked with the killings of security men and vandalisation of pipelines in the Arepo axis.

He said, “The special operation coordinated by the commissioner has led to the arrest of four leaders of the militants group that has been responsible for killings ,damaging PPMC/NNPC pipelines and criminal acts at Arepo for years.

“The command had deployed men from the Special Anti- Robbery Squad,Police Mobile Force, Safer Highway, and Anti- Crime teams from various sections of the command to attack the hoodlums in the creek with two Armoured Personnel Carriers.”


  • Punch
About the Author