Buhari approves new board of Directors for NNPC

*NNPC Towers.

*NNPC Towers.

Kunle Kalejaye

04 July 2016, Sweetcrude, Lagos —
President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

The approval was made known by the President Special Adviser (Media and Publicity), Mr Femi Adesina today in Abuja.

The new board is composed of the following:

A. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
B. Group Managing Director-Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
D. The following six persons:
1. Mallam Abba Kyari
2. Dr Thomas M.A John
3. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”

About the Author