Buhari removes Kachikwu as NNPC boss, appoints new board for corporation

04 July 2016, Sweetcrude, Abuja – President Muhammadu Buhari has approved appointments into the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), relieving Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu of the post of  Group Managing Director of the corporation.

Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Nigeria's minister of state for petroleum resources.

Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu

A statement by presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina, said the composition of the new board is as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

Kachikwu, however, remains Minister of State for Petroleum Resources and is chairman of the new NNPC board, according to the statement.

The president also approved the appointment of Maikanti Kacalla Baru as Group Managing Director of the NNPC.

Members of the new board are:
1. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
2. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
3. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; Mahmoud Isa Dutse, and
4. Mallam Abba Kyari
5. Dr Thomas M.A John
6. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
7. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
8. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
9. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.
According to the statement also, President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC. He also urged them to “serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”

About the Author