Nigeria: Amaechi charges new board members on accountability

*Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, Nigeria's minister of transport.

*Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, Nigeria’s minister of transport.

Kunle Kalejaye

24 September 2016, Sweetcrude, Lagos — Following the successful inauguration of Governing Board members for Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, NIMASA and the Nigeria Port Authority, NPA, the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi has charged members on accountability, and policy formulation aimed at achieving set objectives.

Speaking while inaugurating the 11 member Board for NIMASA at the Conference Room of the Federal Ministry of Transportation in Abuja, the Minister said, “your responsibilities as Governing Board members include setting operational and administrative policies in accordance with government policies and directives aimed at assisting the Agency achieve its mandate.”

Amaechi emphasised the need for members of the Board to justify their appointments by promoting prudence, accountability, transparency, equity and fairness in the discharge of their responsibilities.

While congratulating the members of the board on their appointment, the minister tasked them on the need to engender a harmonious working relationship with the Management of the Agency emphasising that their membership of the Board is strictly on a part-time basis.

The Minister admonished the members to be change agents through adherence to zero tolerance for corruption and to propagate the government’s anti-corruption stance by showing the example that change begins with me.

Responding on behalf of the members, the Chairman of the Governing Board of NIMASA, Major Gen. Jonathan India Garba thanked the President for finding them worthy of this appointment and assured the Minister that members will work conscientiously towards actualising the mandate of the Agency.

Gen. Garba further noted that members of the board are mindful of the position of President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration on corruption emphasising that they will work diligently in accordance with extant laws towards actualising the government’s focus.

Board members that were inaugurated by the Hon. Minister include General Jonathan India Garba as Chairman, Dr. Dakuku Peterside, Mr. Bashir Yusuf Jamoh, Engr. Joseph Oluwarotimi Fashakin, Mr. Ahmed Gambo and Mr. S.U. Galadanchi.

Others are Ms. Enebeti Dike, Rear Admiral Adeniyi Osinowo, Mohammed Mua’zu, Asekhome Otakia Kenneth and Barrister Ebele Obi.

About the Author