A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Listed Nigerian oil firms’ CEOs lose out on NSE’s 2017 awards

*The Nigerian Stock Exchange.

OpeOluwani Akintayo

15 December 2017, Sweetcrude, Lagos — The Nigerian Stock Exchange’s Chief Executive Officers, CEO awards 2017 has come and gone yet, not even one CEO of the oil firms listed on the bourse clinched any of the plaques.

The likes of TOTAL, Seplat, Chevron, Oando, ExxonMobil, MRS, Conoil, Forte Oil, Eterna, Anino, Rakunity, Capoil, Becopetro, and Japauloil are some of the other oil firms domiciled in Nigeria listed on the Exchange.

Winners of the awards were unveiled yesterday at the Stock Exchange House, Lagos.

Dangote Cement Plc was named the Most Compliant Listed Company for 2017, having demonstrated the highest degree of compliance with the rules and regulations regarding disclosure obligations of listed companies on the Exchange in 2017.

The award for the Best Dealing Member firm went to Stanbic IBTC Stockbrokers Limited, for a high-performance culture. It was the firm’s sixth consecutive win in the NSE CEO Awards. Stanbic IBTC Stockbrokers Limited accounted for the highest value of trades on the Exchange in 2017 while Pilot Securities Limited won the award for the Most Compliant Dealing Member firm of the year 2017, for demonstrating the best level of compliance with the NSE Rules and Regulations. The firm was honoured for its compliance with the Minimum Operating Standards of the Exchange, adequate and timely rendition of statutory and regulatory returns.

The NSE CEO Awards was initiated in 2012 to motivate listed companies and dealing members to a higher level of corporate governance and compliance to reinforce investor confidence in the Nigerian capital market. Since inception, the annual award has become one of the important events at The Nigerian Stock Exchange.

In this article

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation