A Review of the Nigerian Energy Industry

Appeal Court declares Okoronkwo IPMAN president after long, bitter battle


Princewill Demian
03 January 2018, Sweetcrude, Abuja – An Appeal Court sitting in Abuja has declared Dr. Chinedu Okoronkwo as the National President of the Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN), bringing an end to years-long bitter fight over the leadership of the organisation.

The latest judgment is coming more than three years after a High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), entered judgment in favour of Mr. Okoronkwo as National President of the association.

In the said judgment, Justice Valentine Ashi restrained Chief Obasi Lawson from parading himself as President of the Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigerian (IPMAN).

The Plaintiff, Chinedu Okoronkwo, had in a suit number FCT/HC/4141/2014, urged the court to restrain Lawson from the act.

A statement issued after the National Executive Meeting (NEC), in Abuja, on Wednesday, by the National Secretary of IPMAN, Alhaji Danladi Pasali, quoted him as that that the judgment remained a welcome development for marketers.

He said that the Court of Appeal, Abuja, in re-affirming an earlier judgment by an Abuja High Court in suit No. FCT/HC/CV/1479/2016 delivered on 28th of May, 2014, equally upheld the election of IPMAN NEC held on 10th May, 2014.

With the Appeal Court verdict, Pasali said the recognition of Okoronkwo as IPMAN President would address all issues of misconduct and mismanagement plaguing the association and portraying it in bad light.

The Association’s Secretary said that the recognition of Okoronkwo as the substantive National president of IPMAN via the Appeal Court judgment has been communicated to all relevant Government agencies.

The IPMAN scribe assured all members of the body that with Okoronkwo at the helm of affairs, adequate product allocation from the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) would be a top priority in order to ensure that products are available in every part of the country.

He noted that IPMAN in ensuring product availability will be closing ranks with the Depot and Petroleum Products Association (DAPPMA)

The statement added that the members of IPMAN NEC recognised by the Appeal Court judgment included Elder Chinedu Okoronkwo, National President, Alhaji Abubakar Maigani Shettima, Vice-President, Alhaji Danladi Passali, National Secretary, Bola Adeleke, National Treasurer, Chief Leo Nkameme.

Others are the National Organisation Secretary, Alhaji Yakubu Ali Dimka, National Auditor, Chief J.D. Ubani (JP), National Financial Secretary, Dr Hammed Adekunle Fashil, Assistant National Secretary, Alhaji Umar Baba Kano, National Legal Adviser, Chief Ezekwesili Maduagwuna, Chief Whip, Alhaji Yakubu Suleman, National PRO.

In this article

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation